Dorje Kasung

Heather Forsythe is the Rusung of our center, heading up our Dorje Kasung. The members of the Dorje Kasung, modelled on the ancient tradition of dharma protectors, are trained in protecting the space in which practitioners are able to hear and practice the teachings. The protection extends to the teacher who presents the teachings, the teachings themselves, and the community who practice the teachings.

As an example, the Kasung help with things like medical emergencies and making sure no one disturbs the community during meditation practice. As part of their practice the Dorje Kasung wear uniforms to communicate delight in the disciplines of egolessness and simplicity; service to others by being present and available to help; and commitment to the continuous path of waking up oneself and one’s environment and to manifesting care, dignity, mindfulness and awareness.
You should feel free to contact Heather if you’d like to join her Kasung squad, or if you have any concerns or ideas about the center’s safety or wellbeing. You can contact Heather here.

 

The Dorje Kasung meet on the last Sunday of every month from 1pm – 2:30pm. 

Please note dates for Feb, Nov, and Dec are slightly changed to avoid scheduling conflicts.

Sun, Jan 29, 2017
Sun, Feb 19, 2017
Sun, Mar 26, 2017
Sun, Apr 30, 2017
Sun, May 28, 2017
Sun, Jun 25, 2017
Sun, Jul 30, 2017
Sun, Aug 27, 2017
Sun, Sep 24, 2017
Sun, Oct 29, 2017
Sun, Nov 19, 2017
Sun, Dec 10, 2017